USA Print Broker, Inc.

#1 Networking Tool…and the Winner Is?

Posted on: May 18, 2011

What is the best networking tool for your company? If you attend networking events, you are familiar with the term “elevator speech.” It’s a 30-60 second commercial for your company that you can drag out at a moment’s notice. It covers all the bases: who you are, what you do, why you do it and what makes you the best choice for any customer. The elevator speech is an important thing to have in your proverbial hip pocket. It’s vital when you are face-to-face with a potential client who needs to get the big picture in record time.

That said, there is a networking tool that often goes unnoticed…and is often underplayed. Once your elevator speech is done (and is followed by 50 other elevator speeches at a networking event), what keeps you top of mind with the people you’ve just met? I wish my memory was finely tuned enough to remember all of the information just thrown at me after one of those sessions, but the truth is that I depend a great deal on the little things that get handed out along with the elevator speech.

For me, the all-time #1 networking tool is the 3.5” x 2” piece of card stock we call a BUSINESS CARD!

I have to admit that a good business card can sometimes beat out a great elevator speech, simply because it’s something I take with me and have available when I need a particular kind of service.

Now, don’t get me wrong…a bad business card can also be just as effective – in the other direction. At the risk of being called a business card snob, let me just say that I read a lot in to what I see on that little piece of paper. Is it designed well? Does it provide the necessary information? Does it grab my eye? Does it feel substantial in my hand? Was it well thought out? Does it give me a sense that this company has it together? I want my card to communicate more than just fact…I want it to communicate excellence!

We built our USA Print Broker reputation on printing business cards that stand out from the competition. Our standard cards use a 16pt stock. That is thicker than almost every other card I see. We have found a thicker card makes a better impression, so that is what we consider standard. We have also found that color isn’t just eye-catching, it is memorable. The back of a business card can be just as important as the front. Either leave it blank, so that notes can be written on it, or use it as a way to communicate more specific services, requests for referrals, or even use it to provide coupons for products and/or services rendered.

No matter what you do with your card, don’t forget the basics:

  • Make sure your contact information is legible. If you have so much information that you had to use a 6pt typeface, no one over 40 can read it!
  • Make sure you use your logo. If you don’t have one, get one designed immediately.
  • Do you have a one-line slogan that describes your business or services? Use it.
  • If you have an email address and website, be sure to put them on there. You would be surprised how many clients want to communicate through email.
  • If you can, look at your competitors’ cards and make sure yours stands out.

Our standard cards are a great quality product that any business can afford, but we don’t stop there. We offer a wide variety of options depending your requirements and budget:

Are you ready to network? Get your cards together and go be memorable!

Leave a comment

Categories